casinosranks background coins
casinosranks background coins

Euro 2020 – The Biggest Football Event of 2021

Euro 2020

The 2020 UEFA European Football Championship, most commonly referred to as Euro 2020, is the 16th UEFA European Championship.

The original tournament dates were from 12 June to 12 July 2020. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic they will be in this period: 11 June – 11 July 2021.

Despite actually taking place in 2021, the tournament still retains the name “UEFA Euro 2020”. This year the VAR (video assistant referee) system will finally make its debut at the European Championship with this tournament.

The prize money for the tournament itself was announced in February 2018, when it was decided that each participating team receives a participation award of €9.25 million. Having said that, the winner will be able to earn up to €34 million!

Where is Euro 2020 held?

stadium, football, euro 2020, uefa

The tournament will take place in 11 cities in 11 different countries, representative of the qualifying members.

Those are Amsterdam, Baku, Bucharest, Budapest, Copenhagen, Glasgow, London, Munich, Rome, Saint Petersburg and Seville.

The Wembley Stadium in London will be hosting the semi-finals and final on the 11st of July itself.

Euro 2020 Teams

Of the 24 teams that qualified this year, 19 are returning from the 2016 tournament. Among them are Belgium and Italy, who were both flawless in the qualifying stages, the defending European champions Portugal and world champions France.

This tournament will be historic for Finland and North Macedonia, who will make their European Championship debut, never having previously qualified for any major tournament.

The remaining qualified teams are Russia, Poland, Ukraine, Spain, Turkey, England, Czech Republic, Sweden, Croatia, Austria, Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, Wales, Hungary, Slovakia and Scotland.

Euro 2020 Groups

The groups in the 2020 UEFA European Football Championship include the following countries:

A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland
B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia
C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia,
D: England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic
E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia
F: Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany

Want to learn more? Visit the official UEFA website for more information!

Relevant news